Other than the seriously incredible music that conveys the themes and emotions perfectly…
This story runs the gauntlet of human experience.  You can relate to every part.  Desperation, Repentance, Hope, Fighting for a Cause, New Love, Unrequited Love, Forgiveness, Legalism, Redemption, a Father’s Love, the list goes on.

Let me tell you my favorite part.  Okay one of my favorite parts…I have like twenty.

Jean Valjean’s soliloquy “What have I done?” – He transforms in this song.  Seeing his own guilt. The grace shown to him by the Bishop. He repents, turns his life around.

Okay another favorite part…”I dreamed a dream”  Who can’t relate to being at the bottom. Seeing all your dreams having failed you.

Another favorite part…”Finale: Do you hear the people sing?” There’s a line I don’t think many hear.  “We will live again in freedom in the garden of the Lord. We will walk behind the plowshare. We will put away the sword. The chains will be broken and all men will have their reward.”  Hope!  God will make it right in the end!

Okay…so there’s about a billion other favorite parts.

Redemption! Life!

