The betrayal and gravity of sin sunk in today as I read Jeremiah 3.  The whole passage God calls Israel and Judah (His people..of which I am a part of…Romans 11) a prostitute.  Yup.  You heard me.  He calls them dirty rotten whores, so to speak.

So!  For me, since I have claimed my hope and professed my trust in Jesus Christ, anytime I run to other lovers to satisfy me when I should be going to God….I am the the adulterous one.

This picture is good for me to remember. Hits home.  I do not want to betray My First Love.  So when I am tempted  to sin, it is not just about choosing what is easy or satisfying at the moment….it is the picture of a wife turning her back on her loving husband.

Don’t let this be me Lord

Dear Lord, give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name (Psalm 86:11b)

Jeremiah 3:1-5 (but you should really read the rest of the chapter to see what else he tells Israel)

“If a man divorces his wife
and she leaves him and marries another man,
should he return to her again?
Would not the land be completely defiled?
But you have lived as a prostitute with many lovers —
would you now return to me?”
declares the Lord.
“Look up to the barren heights and see.
Is there any place where you have not been ravished?
By the roadside you sat waiting for lovers,
sat like a nomad in the desert.
You have defiled the land
with your prostitution and wickedness.
Therefore the showers have been withheld,
and no spring rains have fallen.
Yet you have the brazen look of a prostitute;
you refuse to blush with shame.
Have you not just called to me:
‘My Father, my friend from my youth,
will you always be angry?
Will your wrath continue forever?’
This is how you talk,
but you do all the evil you can.”

