Sometimes you do NOT have to choose between opposing forces.  In fact sometimes you SHOULDN’T. Some opposing forces are best when they are held in tension.  Not really a word we like.  Not really a feeling we like.

But think about it.  Spontinatiety vs. Planning, emotion vs. reason, individual vs. community.  If we release the tension between these two opposing (though both good) forces then instability and breakdowns begin to occur.

Yesterday I was struck by this tension.

7 “O my people, listen as I speak.
Here are my charges against you, O Israel:
 I am God, your God!
8 I have no complaint about your sacrifices
or the burnt offerings you constantly offer.
9 But I do not need the bulls from your barns
or the goats from your pens.
10 For all the animals of the forest are mine,
and I own the cattle on a thousand hills.
11 I know every bird on the mountains,
and all the animals of the field are mine.
12 If I were hungry, I would not tell you, 
      for all the world is mine and everything in it. 
13 Do I eat the meat of bulls?
Do I drink the blood of goats?
14 Make thankfulness your sacrifice to God, 
      and keep the vows you made to the Most High. 
15 Then call on me when you are in trouble, 
      and I will rescue you, 
 and you will give me glory.

Psalm 50-NLT

Do you see the tension?  On one hand God is so Holyset apart, worthy of honor. He does not need us!  Completely self-sufficient and truly The Most High. 

And yet…..

Gracious, relational, involved with the lowly. He tells me… “Call on me when you are in trouble, and I will rescue you, and you will give me glory.”  Even when I have been an ungrateful little snot.  Or when I have betrayed him by not keeping the vows I made to Him.  Or when I have neglected and disregarded him in my daily life.  In short I’ve been disrespectful, arrogant, and self-serving towards the The Most High God AND YET! He wants me to call to him when I am in need! And He promises to rescue me.

Wow!

A God who is both Holy and Gracious.

He doesn’t need me and yet He wants me. 

A tension that I rather like. 

A tension made possible by Jesus Christ.

