Out of all the superheros I really think he might be my favorite (it’s a tough decision w/ all the super-ness of superheros out there).

Dr. Abraham Erskine: “Do you want to kill Nazi’s ?”

Steve Rogers/Captain America: “I don’t want to kill anyone. I don’t like bullies; I don’t care where they’re from.”

      A man who understands the value of human life.  A man who is humble.  A man who is steadfast.  A man who leads.  A man who willingly sacrifices himself before those that he leads.  A man who is compassionate.

 And can I be Arwen from Lord of the Rings?  (I know not the same genre, but she is the best choice)

Witch King: “Give up the Halfling, She-Elf!”        

Arwen [draws her sword]:  If you want him, come and claim him!

[as Frodo collapses and begins to fade]

Arwen: ” Frodo, don’t give in! Not now!  What Grace is given me, let it pass to him. Let him be spared. Save him. ”

A woman who is both beautiful and brave.  A woman who is willing to give sacrificially of herself.  A woman who is not hard and controlling, but one who is soft, nourishing, and inviting.  A woman who inspires and encourages the men in her life to do what is right and to be all that they are meant to be.  A woman who hopes.

 


How does a man become Captain America (or Aragorn would be a good one too)?  How do I become a woman like Arwen?   I’ve tried but… ” I want to do what is right, but I can’t.  I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway. But if I do what I don’t want to do, I am not really the one doing wrong; it is sin living in me that does it.

I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong.  I love God’s law with all my heart.  But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.” Romans 7:18-25

“This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!” -2 Corinthians 5:17

“The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.“-John 10:10

   Lord help me to be who you want me to be.

          Someone who lives purposely and fully.

               Someone who is glorifying to You.

    Help me, because I can’t do it without you.

