Wednesday, 26 January 2011

  • For His Glory and Kingdom!

          It was one of those God-moments tonight at Bible study.  Clay was talking about a point in our Christian walk when we give God lordship over our lives.  This is not just that He is our Savior, which of course he is, but when we finally are giving over control of our lives to Him.  In a lot of ways this does happen when we become saved, but it is also a process.  And for many Christians there is a second time later in their Christian life when they become truly committed to the One that saved them….That would be me.
    I knew I needed Jesus at age 4 in Awana.  But it was the summer before going into 7th grade that I understoodthat I needed Jesus and decided that I should live knowing Him not just knowing about Him.  Over the years I grew in my faith and maturity, and I gave Christ control over different aspects of my life.  But as Clay was talking about “lordship” I remembered a particular day in Bethel College Chapel where I gave it ALL. I wrote it down in the back of my bible to mark the significance.  So tonight while Clay kept talking I paged back to my notes sections and it reads:

      On January 26th, 2007 
         I committed that I would 
               Go anywhere
                   at anytime and
                      do anything the
                Lord called me to.
          For His Glory and Kingdom!

    Four years to the day!  and God reminded me of it exactly today!  How cool is that!  Let it be known that I did not make that declaration lightly, nor do I take it lightly now. I was/am fully aware of what I could be giving up at the time and now.  At the time the most fearful thing would have been if God had called me to leave Bethel.  It was the place I felt most at home, loved, alive, and purposeful.  Now it would be if God called me to lead a single life.  God did not, and has not yet, placed either call on my life, but if he did….I would follow.  I believe Scripture teaches these two truths in tension.  #1 God wants us to follow him no matter where he leads  #2 He wants to make us joyful and happy.  What the awesome thing is that if you do #1, number 2 will happen!  It’s just a long hard road.  But worth it!  Nothing in this life has brought  me the same peace, assurance, security, and deep-down-from-your-soul-joy, that giving control of my life to Christ has.

    * Matthew 16:25-26  “For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it.What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul? ”

    So there you go!  I just wanted to share my cool moment of being reminded of my commitment on the exact day I made it four years ago.  Kind of neat.  Thanks God.  🙂

